Cost Accounting Multiple Choice Questions ( MCQS) Page-1. The following Cost Accounting Questions from different Past Papers etc, PPSC Past Papers, Fpsc Pass Papers, NTS and also from MCQS Bank. These Questions are helpful for the preparation of Written test for the Posts of Accountant, Cost Accountant, Auditor and any for any Accounts Related Jobs Tests.
Multiple Choice Questions on Cost Accounting
1. Costs that change in response to alternative courses of action are called:
a. Relevant costs
b. Differential costs
c. Target costs
d. Sunk costs
2. The cost data pertaining to Product ―X‖ of XL Ltd. are as follows :
Maximum capacity 30,000 units
Normal capacity 15,000 units
Increase in inventory 1,880 units
Variable cost per unit ` 12
Selling price per unit ` 50
Fixed manufacturing overhead costs ` 3,60,000
If the profit under Absorption costing method is ` 1,01,000, the profit under Marginal costing method
3. The total cost incurred in the operation of a business undertaking other than the cost of
manufacturing and production is known as
a. Direct cost
b. Variable cost
c. Commercial cost
d. Conversion cost
4. Consider the following data for a company during the month of June 2012
Budgeted hours 4,000 Standard hours for actual production 4,400 Maximum possible hours in the budget period 4,800 Actual hours 3,800 The activity ratio of the company during the month is
5. Total unit costs are
a.Independent of the cost system, used to generate them
b.Needed for determining product contribution
c.Irrelevant in marginal analysis
d.Relevant for cost-volume-profit analysis
6. Which of the following bases is not appropriate for apportionment of Transport department‘s cost ?
a. Crane hours
b. Crane value
c. Truck Mileage
d. Truck value
7. The cost of obsolete inventory acquired several years ago, to be considered in a keep vs. disposal decision is an example of :
8. Budgeted sales for the next year is 5,00,000 units. Desired ending finished goods inventory is 1,50,000 units and equivalent units in ending W-I-P inventory is 60,000 units. The opening finished goods inventory for the next year is 80,000 units, with 50,000 equivalent units in beginning W-I-P inventory How many equivalent units should be produced?
9. If the asset turnover and profit margin of a company are 1.85 and 0.35 respectively, the return on investment is.
10. A company is currently operating at 80% capacity level. The production under normal capacity level is 1,50,000 units. The variable cost per unit is ` 14 and the total fixed costs are ` 8,00,000. If the company wants to earn a profit of ` 4,00,000, then the price of the product per unit should be
11. Consider the following data pertaining to the production of a company for a particular month :
Opening stock of raw material ` 11,570
Closing stock of raw material ` 10,380
Purchase of raw material during the month ` 1,28,450
Total manufacturing cost charged to product ` 3,39,165
Factory overheads are applied at the rate of 45% of direct labour cost.
The amount of factory overheads applied to production is
12. The budgeted annual sales of a firm is ` 80 lakhs and 25% of the same is cash sales. If the average amount of debtors of the firm is ` 5 lakhs, the average collection period of credit sales months.
13. If the minimum stock level and average stock level of raw material ―A‖ are 4,000 and 9,000 units respectively, find out its reorder quantity.
a. 8,000 units
b. 11,000 units
c. 10,000 units
d. 9,000 units
14. A worker has a time rate of ` 15/hr. He makes 720 units of component (standard time : 5 minutes/ unit) in a week of 48 hours. His total wages including Rowan bonus for the week is
15. A company maintains a margin of safety of 25% on its current sales and earns a profit of ` 30 lakhs per annum. If the company has a profit volume (P/V) ratio of 40%, its current sales amount to
a. 200 lakhs
b. 300 lakhs
c. 325 lakhs
d. None of the above
16. Sale for two consecutive months, of a company are ` 3,80,000 and ` 4,20,000. The company‘s net profits for these months amounted to ` 24,000 and ` 40,000 respectively. There is no change in contribution/sales ratio or fixed costs. The contribution/sales ratio of the company is.
d. None of the above
17. A Limited has fixed costs of ` 6,00,000 per annum. It manufactures a single product which it sells for 200 per unit. Its contribution to sales ratio is 40%. A Limited‘s break-even in units is
[Hint : Break-even units = Fixed cost / contribution per unit
= ` 6,00,000/ 40% of ` 200
18. The current liabilities of Akash Ltd. is ` 30,000. If its current ratio is 3:1 and Quick ratio is 1:1, the value of stock-in-trade will be
d. Insufficient information
[Hint : Current Ratio = Current Assets = 3:1
Current Assets = ` 30,000 x 3 = ` 90,000
Quick Ratio = Quick Assets = 1:1
Liquid assets = ` 30,000 x 1 = ` 30,000
Hence, value of stock-in-trade : CA – LA = ` (90,000 – 30,000)
= ` 60,000]
19. If the capacity usage ratio of a production department is 90% and activity ratio is 99% then the efficiency ratio of the department is.
[Hint : Efficiency ratio (ER) = Std. hr. of production ÷ Actual hrs.
Activity ratio (AR) = Std. hrs. for production ÷ Budgeted hrs.
Capacity ratio (CR) = Actual hrs. ÷ Budgeted hrs.
Hence, ER = AR / CR = 99% / 90% = 110%]
20. In two consecutive periods, sales and profit were ` 1,60,000 and ` 8,000 respectively in the first period and ` 1,80,000 and ` 14,000 respectively during the second period. If there is no change in fixed cost between the two periods then P-V ratio must be.
1 b 2 c 3 c 4 a 5 c 6 b 7 b
8 a 9 a 10 c 11 a 12 b 13 c 14 d
15 b 16 b 17 a 18 c 19 3 20 3